h1

Raw Vegan Explorations

May 26, 2010

As a Chef and foodie, I feel the best way to understand people, their tastes and pallets is through their food; to live in their shoes for a time. With the growing popularity of Raw Veganism, superfluous requests for this kind of cuisine and a host of interested friends & family, I felt the time to see what it’s all about from the inside was nigh!

A few months ago, I went a solid week of full throttle Raw Veganism. I didn’t sway a centimeter! Honestly, I never felt better. After the third day, I noticed I had gladiator-energy. I felt lighter, peppier, more vibrant. I felt high or something! It’s difficult to describe but there was a definite difference between how I felt taking in only raw veggies and fruits and my regular diet. Raw Veganism is an awesome way to cleanse, I think.

I’d love to try it again soon but ya know~ I really love warm stuff. And hot stuff! Often, I prefer my food scalding hot, blistering to chew, injurious to swallow! But, at this point, I’ve managed to balance my diet into an 80% raw, 20% cooked model.

After much research, I’ve come to the conclusion that I can’t really say that strict raw veganism, strict vegetarianism or strict anything is THE BEST way to live. The human body is a complex system. What works for one person may not work for another. Where one person shines with a certain diet, another may suffer so my final take on “What is better?” is this: Try it out. Experiment. Research ad nauseum. Find what suits you best and always keep advice from your doctor and other health care professionals at heart.

What I would caution against is going in any dietary direction to fit in with a given group or to placate a fad. Our diets aren’t a pair of shoes or hairstyle. Our diets govern the health of our bodies and we only have one. Stay healthy, folks!

2 comments

  1. Great article. Glad you had a great experience with raw veganism, but then realized that you need balance with some cooked. We must each find our own path. I have found some fun people to hang out with through raw food personals. We share ideas and recipes, and get together for potlucks around the holidays.


    • It’s true! I just enjoy cooking things lol. My culinary point of view is that food is art we can eat! And I just feel that my art needs some heat to be properly expressed. But I LOVE eating raw. Just love it and fully recommend it. As I’ve discussed before, I think an 80% raw, 20% otherwise discipline works best for me and I think it’s a good way to go in general so~ :p Thx for the kind words!



Leave a Reply

