h1

Vegan Breakfast — Who Knew?!

June 12, 2010

Here’s a lovely Vegan breakfast I enjoy preparing! I’ve fooled a few folks with this picture and this preparation, in general. They can’t tell it’s Vegan till I tell them or they try it! :p I think that’s cool~

Scrambled tofu w/ tomatoes, onions & scallions, side of two veggie sausage patties, vegan tortilla & avocado. 🙂 I keep it simple. I start with a saute of tomatoes, onions & scallions, some sea salt to help them sweat. Lil bit of pepper. Some Cumin! Next, I add my tofu (i use chopped up firm) and gently cook it down, about 8 minutes. Add chopped parsley at the end and that’s a scramble that rivals any egg dish, as far as I’m concerned.

As for the vegan “sausage” patties, I made them myself. :p I never throw all the pulp away from my juicing exertions. So, there was celery, fennel, carrot, parsnip, apple in this as well as some cilantro, flat leaf parsley, mashed garbanzo beans and golden flax seeds. For binder, I added a little olive oil and garbanzo flour. Seasoning = cumin, sea salt, Grains of Paradise, mustard powder, turmeric & garlic powder. You can spice it up anyway you like but I enjoy the mild earthiness here coupled with the sweetness of the apple/carrot/parsnip. It’s basic and pleasant and goes lovely with the tofu.

I made the tortillas myself with corn flour, water, sea salt and olive oil. And a tortilla press! Can’t beat the ease! 🙂

3 comments

  1. That picture really is deciving! But looks absolutely delicious. I’m not a vegetarian of any type but would love to try it one day. Thanks!


  2. That’s the goal! 😀 I’m so glad you like! Thanks for the comment; it led me to your blog and I love it! 😀


  3. aw thank you!!! ill be visiting often forsure and ill let you know how the vegan breakfast turns out 🙂



Leave a Reply

