h1

GOOP Day 1 Recap

May 25, 2010

Here’s a recap of yesterday’s GOOP adventure, Monday, May 24th!

I woke up around 5 A.M. per usual. I’m a morning person. I didn’t used to be! As a teenager and in my early twenties, I was a complete night owl. Once I hit 25, something changed. I dunno if it’s a chemical thing or what but I gradually lost my knack for life in twilight. My biology demanded more traditional sleep patterns and, thus, I became one of those folks who beat roosters to the crack of dawn.

First things first! Room temperature water with lemon! I ran out of lemons so I used lime. What I do is leave a tall glass of water on my nightstand, covered so nothing peculiar lurks into it as I sleep. The lime, however, I slice fresh.

Goop Day 1 - Morning Water

Almost two hours later, I had my tea. It was roughly 7 A.M. and I know there is supposed to be a 1 hour space between water and tea but I had a workout and lost track of time. (Did some jogging and some eliptical).

7 A.M. Tea! It’s Ancient Cherry Green Tea (w/ Mint), one of my favorites from Gevalia. (I love their products).

That’s my favorite coffee cup. 🙂 It’s pink with white hearts! The mint is fresh from my garden.

Day 1 - Ancient Cherry Mint Tea

I did some work on my novel over tea and hung out on Twitter/Facebook a bit. I’m a complete junkie for all this social media stuff! :p

9 A.M. – Orange, Blueberry & Almond Milk Smoothie! I use plain Almond milk as sometimes I find the vanilla one too sweet. I probably should have used more blueberries in this but I like snacking on them and saved a bunch to sneak in at other times. :p

Orange, Blueberry & Almond Milk Smoothie

Around 1 o’clock, I screwed up. Instead of making a proper lunch per the program’s instructions, I snacked on edamame & sunflower seeds and just didn’t feel that hungry so I skipped it. I had a proper lunch today (day 2) and plan to do the same tomorrow (day 3).

I didn’t full-on have a full dish till 5 P.M., (which is close to my cut-off. I try not to eat much after 6 P.M. 8 P.M. at the latest. But since I “skipped” lunch, I changed things up a bit. I moved my protein from day 2 into day 1. And not chicken either! I had fish!

Here is my Poached Orange Roughy in a Veggie Broth w/ Edamame & Mint:

Poached Haddock

I let the fish pick up some color from the sauteed veggies I began my broth with. Here’s the recipe:

Poached Orange Roughy in a Veggie Broth w/ Edamame & Mint

Ingredients:

1 4-6 oz. Orange Roughy filet (or frozen, if you must. They are portioned for you. Pictured are cuts from fresh filets).
1/2 cup Shelled Edamame
2 Ribs of Celery, diced
4 Cloves Garlic, roughly chopped
1/3 cup Red Onion, diced
Water
Pinches of cumin, sea salt, freshly ground black pepper, marjoram to taste. (In general, about a teaspoon each. You may take it from there).

How It’s Done:

Heat sesame oil in saucepan or skillet over medium-low heat, about a minute.
Add aromatics, (onion, garlic, celery). Stir a bit and cover immediately. Allow to sweat 3-4 minutes.
Uncover, add sea salt, pepper, marjoram and cumin. Stir a bit and re-cover to sweat more, 2-3 minutes. This a gentle, delicate process that’s a bit of an infusion of flavors. We’re creating lots of condensation beneath the lid and as the veggies release their water, (with the help of the salt at this point), the infancy of a very good broth is had!
Uncover. Make some room in the veggies for the fish. Rest in the skillet and cover again. Let the magic work 1-2 minutes, 3 at the most.
Uncover. Give everything a little movement and add 1/2 cup water. Scrape at the bottom of the skillet to release any fond that may have developed. Re-cover and allow to work 10-15 minutes. Keep an eye on it so that if it needs just a little bit more water, feel free to add by the splash. Constantly taste for seasoning and adjust as necessary.
When done, remove fish and set aside beneath foil to stay warm.
Strain liquid through a sieve so that only broth remains. Give the poached, mushy veggies to someone beside you (so they don’t go to waste).
Ladle broth into your bowl. Add uncooked edamame so it can just heat through. Stylishly stack fish in the center, garnish with mint and serve immediately.
Serves 1.

It was divine! The dish was very clean, very controlled, very disciplined. I’ll tell ya one thing I love about GOOP; it’s so adaptable. I think Gwynnie gives us a fantastic set of GUIDELINES to utilize but as long as we stick to the principles of her Detox, I believe we can change up a few recipes and the order of them to fit what is available and our moods.

I’m tired and falling asleep at the PC so I’m gonna wrap this post up lol ~It’s 11:27 P.M. and, like I said, I’m beat by this hour so. :p Good night all and I’ll post how Day 2 went sometime during the course of Day 3!

2 comments

  1. Oooh yum-o! I’m going to make that tonight! I bought some fish yesterday & have ingredients handy. Sounds healthy & delish! I’m doing a cleanse, so will go down well with that 🙂


  2. How did them fishies turn out, Juria? 😀 Will be checking in on your blog to see how the cleanse is going! I’m on Day 5 of my detox here.



Leave a comment